Error message: The file is too large for the destination file system


Today I come across a problem which is unusual to me.  I have a pendrive which is 8GB usable capacity and when I try to copy a 4.5GB data it fails. It gives an error “The file is too large for the destination file system”. I have Windows 7 OS installed.

Solution:

To overcome this problem, my pendrive has the filesystem of FAT32. When I convert the filesystem to NTFS the problem solves.

Eg:   Enter into command prompt with admin privilege, convert <drive> /fs:ntfs /nosecurity (<drive should be the drive letter of your external hard drive, for example convert F: /fs:ntfs /nosecurity )

Ref : http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090715154046AAZFPBc

http://www.windowsitpro.com/article/file-systems/understanding-file-size-limits-on-ntfs-and-fat

 

Leave a Reply

